by Thought Catalog

Eras end. Friendships, daily routines, jobs, locations, relationships, lives – anything you’re a part of right now is liable to end some day. Maybe temporarily, but possibly forever. Endings as a whole tend to be crappy. Personally, I hate when something I’m enjoying nears the end, so much so that I always avoid the last 20 seconds on the final tracks of my favorite albums, or turn off my favorite movies before the end credits begin. It’s extreme and perhaps even a little odd, but somehow it eases the disappointment in the fact that something I relished is over. In life, these endings are far different than the last 20 seconds of Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On, because I can just start the disc over. Endings in real life – in our lives, are simply not that simple.

Goodbyes are never going to be something we can adapt to. They’re all different and each one is followed by a different person, place or thing being absent in our lives. There are the necessary goodbyes that we feel a sense of relief after, but even then, to know that something we once felt strongly about or comfortable with is going to cease to exist can be scary. Maybe we should eliminate “goodbye” from our vocabulary. Ciao, farewell, later, ta-ta, adieu – take your pick — any of those feel a lot less concrete and final, even if goodbye is the sad reality.

Thought Catalog

Goodbyes Are The Worst

Eras end. Friendships, daily routines, jobs, locations, relationships, lives – anything you’re a part of right now is liable to end some day. Maybe temporarily, but possibly forever. Endings as a whole tend to be crappy. Personally, I hate when something I’m enjoying nears the end, so much so that I always avoid the last 20 seconds on the final tracks of my favorite albums, or turn off my favorite movies before the end credits begin. It’s extreme and perhaps even a little odd, but somehow it eases the disappointment in the fact that something I relished is over. In life, these endings are far different than the last 20 seconds of Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On, because I can just start the disc over. Endings in real life – in our lives, are simply not that simple.

Goodbyes are directly linked to endings. A career change…

View original post 459 more words

